# Council Committees and Sub-Committees and Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen Thereof

## Audit and Governance Committee

5 Members (no more than one Member of Cabinet) plus 2 Co-opted Members

Councillors P. Gibson, Nicholson, Stewart, H. Trueman and P. Wood

Independent Members Mr. G.N. Cook and Mr. M. Knowles

Chair (Co-opted Member) Mr. G.N. Cook

## **Human Resources Committee**

#### 12 Members

Councillors Chequer, Farthing, Hartnack, Haswell, K. Johnston, Mann, G. Miller, Potts, Stewart, Tye, Williams and P. Wood

Chair Councillor G. Miller Vice-Chair Councillor Stewart

## Sunderland Health And Wellbeing Board

### 20 Members

Healthy City Portfolio Holder (Chair) – Councillor Chequer Deputy Cabinet Member for Healthy City – Councillor F. Miller Children, Learning and Skills Portfolio Holder – Councillor Farthing Opposition Member – Councillor McDonough

# Council is requested to note the above-mentioned nominations are made by the Leader.

### (Council Officers)

Chief Executive Executive Director of Health, Housing and Communities Director of Adult Services Director of Children's Services and Chief Executive – Together for Children

### (Representatives of external organisations)

Chief Officer – Clinical Commissioning Group – D Chandler Chair of Clinical Commissioning Group – Dr. I. Pattison (Vice Chair) Member of the Clinical Commissioning Group – Dr T. Lucas Healthwatch representative – Dr J Dean Chair – Sunderland Partnership – **Vacancy** Chief Executive, South Tyneside and Sunderland NHS Foundation Trust– K. Bremner Executive Director of Commissioning and Quality Assurance, Northumberland Tyne & Wear NHS Foundation Trust – L. Quinn University of Sunderland representative – Dr. Y. Graham Chair – Sunderland Healthy Workplace Alliance Chair – Health and Care Executive Chair – All Together Better in interim until place-based provider alliance established – Dr. M. Weatherhead Safer Sunderland Partnership representative – Chief Superintendent

## **Scrutiny Co-Ordinating Committee**

#### 14 Members

Councillors Bond, Butler, Curtis, Doyle, Edgeworth, Hartnack, Mason-Gage, Mullen, P. Smith, D. Snowdon, D.E. Snowdon, Thornton, H. Trueman and Watson

Chair Councillor D.E. Snowdon Vice-Chair Councillor Watson

#### Health and Wellbeing Scrutiny Committee

#### 12 Members

Councillors Ayre, Bond, Butler, Chisnall, J. Heron, McDonough, Mann, Potts, Speding, D. Trueman, Usher and M. Walker

Chair Councillor Butler Vice-Chair Councillor Chisnall

### Children, Education and Skills Scrutiny Committee

#### 12 Members + 4 Co-Opted Members

Councillors Burrell, Crosby, Dunn, P.W.L. Gibson, Guy, S. Johnston, Mason-Gage, McKeith, Samuels, P. Smith, Thornton and Tye

Co-opted Members:-

Church of England diocese representative – Vacancy
Roman Catholic diocese representative – Ms. A. Blakey
Secondary and Special School Parent Governor representative – Vacancy
Primary School Parent Governor representative - Vacancy

ChairCouncillor Mason-GageVice-ChairCouncillor McKeith

## **Economic Prosperity Scrutiny Committee**

## 12 Members

Councillors Ali, Dixon, Edgeworth, Fagan, Foster, Laws, Mordey, Reed, Scanlan, D. Snowdon, H. Trueman and Warne

Chair Councillor D. Snowdon Vice-Chair Councillor H. Trueman

## **Standards Committee**

## 8 Members

Councillors Doyle, P. Gibson, Hodson, K. Johnston, G. Miller, Stewart, Williams and P. Wood

## Co-Opted Members (non-voting):-

**2 Members of Hetton Town Council nominated by the Town Council:** Councillors R. Elvin and D. Geddis

Chair Councillor P. Gibson Vice-Chair Councillor Stewart

### Independent Person (not a member of the Committee):-

Mr D. Hall – Appointed at Council in September 2017 for a period of two years, an additional period of two years from 1 October 2019 then an additional period of two years from 1 October 2021.

### **Planning and Highways Committee**

### 10 Members

Councillors Doyle, Foster, M. Herron, G. Miller, Morrissey, Mullen, Nicholson, Thornton, Scott and Warne

Chair Councillor Thornton Vice-Chair Councillor G. Miller

### Licensing and Regulatory Committee

### 15 Members

Councillors Ali, Chisnall, Dodds, Donaghy, Fletcher, P. Gibson, P.W.L. Gibson, Hartnack, J. Heron, Mann, Mordey, G. Smith, H. Trueman, M. Walker and A. Wood

Chair Councillor Fletcher Vice-Chair Councillor M. Walker

## Licensing Sub-Committees

Panels of 3 Members from Licensing Committee - Rotation system to operate

## Homelessness Appeals Panel

### 10 Members

Councillors Ali, Donaghy, Mason-Gage, G. Miller, Nicholson, Samuels, G. Smith, Speding, Usher and Williams

Chair Councillor Williams

## **Education Complaints Panel**

#### 10 Members

Councillors Dunn, Farthing, P.W.L. Gibson, K. Johnston, McKeith, Nicholson, P. Smith, Tye, Williams and Wilson

## **Education (Appointment of Governors) Panel**

#### 10 Members

Councillors Burrell, Guy, Hartnack, M. Herron, McKeith, Nicholson, Scanlan, Scott, G. Smith and Williams

Chair Councillor Williams

### **Appeals Committee**

#### 20 Members

Councillors Blackburn, Curtis, Crosby, Dixon, Donaghy, Farthing, Fletcher, P. Gibson, Hartnack, Haswell, J. Heron, S. Johnston, Mann, F. Miller, G. Miller, Potts, Rowntree, P. Smith, Speding and Stewart

A Panel will comprise 3 Members, 2 majority and 1 opposition

### Joint Consultative Committee

#### 8 Members

Councillors Hartnack, Haswell, K. Johnston, G. Miller, Rowntree, Stewart, Williams and P. Wood

\* N.B. The position of Chair alternates annually with Trade Union Side.

## **Corporate Parenting Board**

## 7 Members

Children, Learning and Skills Portfolio Holder (substitute Deputy Cabinet Member for Children, Learning and Skills) Councillors Burnicle, Crosby, Laws, McKeith, P. Smith and Tye (Substitutes – Councillors Burrell, Dunn, Guy, Hartnack, Mordey and Potts)

**1 Non-Voting Co-opted Member –** A Non-Executive Director from Together for Children - Sunderland

Chair Children, Learning and Skills Portfolio Holder

## Port Board

### 5 Members

Councillors G. Miller, Scanlan, G. Smith, Stewart and P. Wood

#### **Co-opted Members**

Mr R. McEvoy and Mr L. Taylor

Chair Councillor G. Miller Vice-Chair Councillor Stewart

## **Coalfield Area Committee**

## (Ward Councillors for Copt Hill, Hetton, Houghton and Shiney Row)

Councillors Blackburn, Burrell, Dodds, J. Heron, K. Johnston, Mason-Gage, Price, Rowntree, Scott, D. Snowdon, Speding and Thornton

Chair Councillor Blackburn Vice Chair Councillor J. Heron

### West Sunderland Area Committee

# (Ward Councillors for Barnes, Pallion, St. Anne's, St. Chad's, Sandhill and Silksworth)

Councillors Ayre, Burnicle, Crosby, Dunn, Edgeworth, P. Gibson, Greener, Haswell, Mann, McDonough, Mullen, Nicholson, O'Brien, Peacock, G. Smith, P. Smith, Tye and Watson

Chair Councillor P. Gibson Vice Chair Councillor Haswell

### East Sunderland Area Committee

### (Ward Councillors for Doxford, Hendon, Millfield, Ryhope and St. Michael's)

Councillors Ali, Bewick, Curtis, Dixon, Fagan, P.W.L. Gibson, M. Herron, Hodson, Mordey, Morrissey, Potts, Reed, Scanlan, A. Wood and P. Wood

Chair Councillor M. Herron Vice Chair Councillor Dixon

### North Sunderland Area Committee

### (Ward Councillors for Castle, Fulwell, Redhill, St. Peter's and Southwick)

Councillors Bond, Butler, Chequer, Chisnall, Doyle, Foster, Hartnack, S. Johnston, McKeith, Samuels, A. Smith, Stewart, Usher, Vera and Wilson

Chair Councillor Wilson Vice Chair Councillor Foster

### Washington Area Committee

### (Ward Councillors for Washington Central, Washington East, Washington North, Washington South and Washington West)

Councillors Donaghy, Farthing, Fletcher, Guy, Lauchlan, Laws, F. Miller, G. Miller, D.E. Snowdon, D. Trueman, H. Trueman, M. Walker, P. Walker, Warne and Williams

Chair Councillor Lauchlan Vice Chair Councillor Laws